Hannah chose to go to bed tonight. It was 9pm. She came to me with her toothbrush, then after finishing her teeth, off she went. We did some salami-salami-baloney, read a story and 5 minutes later she was out.
What? Who is this child?
I should've shuffled her off to bed at 8, but I was done. I took a time out and let her build a 'playground' from couch cushions while her brother crawled about and watched.
It wasn't a big mess. And she had a BIG day.
Up early to say bye to dada, a little bit of TV before coming to wake mama to get ready for gym time. She seriously did that. Beat my alarm. I made oatmeal with browned butter and sugar, but she only had a little. She had already enjoyed cereal from dada and a yogourt cup she pulls out of the fridge on her own.
Gym time with her friends, followed by watching the salmon spawn in the creek. Home, bread baking, soup for lunch.
I made the most wonderful soup last night. I baked a kabocha squash, split it in two, put half in the fridge and half in the soup. The family devoured the soup. I went to warm it up today, and dumped a container of orange slop into the pot. Boy, this is like, ALL pumpkin, I thought, stirring it. Did we even get pumpkin last night? Did it all sink to the bottom or something? Totally didn't clue in, until it was all cooked. That's just squash. The soup is in the other container. Ooops.
We went to visit my grandmother, a 45 minute drive, as my aunt and uncle are in town. I love to see them, but it is hard. Both kids are in my lap glomming me, and interrupting, and making the other one cry, and I feel like I barely got past "how are you" in the 2 hours I spent there. Luckily they slept in the car there and back, else I might've sworn off taking that trip ever again.
Dinner was linguini alfredo, asparagus, and a roast chicken from the supermarket. It's hard making dinner with two tired, hungry kids on hand. And I'm all no more candy, dinner is coming, leave me alone!
I'm catching up on Once Upon A Time. Once I finish this episode, Family Reunion, I'll be all caught up. It's been a month or two, and a lot of knitting. Now I need to find a new series for the backside of my dress.
I've been wanting to make cookies for days, but I haven't decided what to make. It haunts me every night until about 11:30, when I decide it's too late anyway.
So today, Hannah goes and picks out her shoes, "Mama, I'm going to wearing my f*ing shoes."
"You what shoes? Your ... your fun shoes?" I try to plant a better word.
"Imma wear my f*ing shoes." She responds, cool as can be. It's as if she's saying she wants to wear her purple shoes.
"Who calls them your f*ing shoes?" I ask calmly, trying to match her tone of indifference.
"You do, mama."
"Oh," I backpedal, "your funny shoes. I must've called them your funny shoes."
Think she bought it?
No comments:
Post a Comment